2017 Conference Slide2017 Conference Slide 2

UNT Equity and Diversity Conference

About the Equity and Diversity Conference
University Union | 8:00 a.m. – 7 p.m.

The Equity and Diversity Conference is an annual event hosted by the Division of Institutional Equity and Diversity at the University of North Texas. In its 17th year, the conference bring together students, educators and professionals who are committed to equity, access, and inclusion in higher education, but is also open to any community members interested in diversity and inclusion topics.

This year’s theme “Social Justice: A Movement Not a Moment” features speakers and presenters related to equity, access and inclusion in the following areas: bias awareness, discrimination policies and practices, gender and gender identity, race and ethnicity, and social justice education. It includes an evening performance with UNT alum and spoken word artist Joaquin Zihuatanejo who will work with students at the conference to perform their own social justice themed spoken word poetry.

2017 Keynote Speaker: Dr. Melissa Harris-Perry

Melissa Harris-PerryOur keynote speaker will be Dr. Melissa Harris-Perry. Harris-Perry is the Maya Angelou Presidential Chair at Wake Forest University where she is the Executive Director of the Pro Humanitate Institute and founding director of the Anna Julia Cooper Center. She is Editor-in-Large at ELLE.com and hosted the television show “Melissa Harris-Perry” from 2012-2016 weekend mornings on MSNBC.

She is also the author of the award-winning Barbershops, Bibles, and BET: Everyday Talk and Black Political Thought, and Sister Citizen: Shame, Stereotypes, and Black Women in America.

Harris-Perry received her B.A. degree in English from Wake Forest University and her Ph.D. in political science from Duke University. She also studied theology at Union Theological Seminary in New York. Harris-Perry previously served on the faculty of the University of Chicago, Princeton University, and Tulane University.

To read more about Melissa Harris-Perry, visit her website at melissaharrisperry.com.




Spoken Word